The next steps for me…

Posted: March 24, 2011 in FTM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So I’m coming up really fast on graduating college. I don’t think I will be able to get my name change in time to have it put on my diploma, but I think I can get it reissued when I can get the time to go to court to file the petition. (I have to do it in Louisiana because that is where I currently reside). I’m not letting it get to me. I’ve never liked my birth name (even before transitioning) so I am just walking across that stage with my head held high. I’m graduating. That is the most important part.

Next thing for me is going to be chest surgery. I have to get it done. I’m having bad chest dsyphoria now. I don’t know if I have said it on here, but I can’t wear a binder all the time. I have arthritis in my sternum. So when I bind, it hurts so bad the next day I can’t stand it. It sucks cause having it on really makes me feel better about how I look. I have tried only wearing for a couple of hours and building up to it. I just can’t do it. So surgery will hopefully happen soon. The good news for me is right now I look like I am a fat guy with moobs. But there is one problem, I’m losing weight. (I know what a problem) I’m losing my guy and my moobs are becoming more pronounced. It blows. So now I kinda doubt whether I pass (which is a little silly, my voice is deep and my face is square). The moobs just gotta go. Plain and simple.

Also, looking at a hysterectomy as well. My ovaries are not fans of me putting that much T in my body. They are fighting and hurt real bad. Not to mention, taking t for a long period of time and not taking them out is a cancer risk. (I get screen often, no worries, but it needs to happen.)

If you can’t tell, I’m in a much better mood as of late. I’m feeling really accomplished at school. I found out that I can make up some work I was missing. So I think I got it now. Hopefully. Graduation here I come. My anxiety will be kicking and screaming the whole way. My inner voice has not been happy about this idea. That’s why I have changed my major four times and never graduated before now. My therapist told me yesterday to listen to the inner voice and then just give it a big ole middle finger. And that is what I am doing.

Comments
  1. Ace says:

    Congrats on graduating man that is a HUGE accomplishment!!! I hear ya on the chest dysphoria big time. Hang in there. Im getting my hysto n may n im scred to death lol. Insurance will pay for that one thank God. Sounds like u have a great plan! Hit me up if u ever need to talk vent whatever

  2. twila says:

    Hi Seth. My name is twila. My partner Tammy recently shared with me that he is transgender. I’m reeling. I came out at age 50 six years ago and we have been together all this time. I love tam with all my heart and want to help him as much as I can with this transition. Do you have any advice for me? Because tam has always been so masculine I thought of him as a really boyish girl. Now I am retraining my mind to think of him simply as a boy. Also, I am struggling with my own orientation. Any advice would be appreciated. Also, kudos to you on school and on your courage and determination on your own journey.

    • sethisaboy says:

      As far as matters of the heart, well I’m not the best person for advice. Here is what I can tell you. Love him as male which seems like what you already do. Just ask for patience from him when you call him the wrong name and pronouns. That was the hardest for me was understanding people didn’t can’t just change calling you this name and pronouns as fast you did in your head. Are you talking about your own gender orientation or sexual orientation? If you are talking about sexuality, I believe you love who love no matter the gender. Too say someone is this one thing all the time is difficult. One thing I find common in the community is a disdain for labels. I find they are binding and I usually break them. Love him for who is his. He hasn’t changed. Promise. It’s been something he’s felt all his life. Good luck. If you need anything else you can email me @ dunlapsethj@gmail.com

Leave a comment